Friday, 13 April 2012

1965, Film: The Ipcress File

The Ipcress File is a British film directed by Sidney J. Furie with a musical score by John Barry. The screenplay by Bill Canaway and James Doran was based on Len Deighton's 1962 novel with the same title. Main stars were Michael Caine, Sue Lloyd, Guy Doleman, Gordon Jackson and Nigel Green.

A number of leading Western scientists have been kidnapped only to reappear a few days later. Unfortunately, each scientist has been brainwashed and is now completely useless. The British send their agent, Harry Palmer (Michael Caine), to investigate. Palmer is surprised to be selected for such a mission (considering his past) and believes he has been chosen because he is expendable.
Michael Caine
Michael Caine and Sue Lloyd
  • BAFTA Film Award for Best British Art Direction (Colour): Ken Adam (1966)
  • BAFTA Film Award for Best British Cinematography (Colour): Otto Heller (1966)
  • BAFTA Film Award for Best British Film: Sidney J. Furie (1966)
  • Edgar Allan Poe Awards for Best Foreign Film: W.H. Canaway, James Doran (1966)
  • Golden Laurel for Sleeper of the Year (1966)
Gordon Jackson and Michael Caine


No comments:

Post a Comment