Sunday 27 March 2022

1967, Television: "Les Aventures de Michel Vaillant"

The French television series "Les Aventures de Michel Vaillant" premiered on 30 April 1967 on ORTF1 (Première chaîne de Office de Radiodiffusion Télévision Française). The series, directed by Charles Bretoneiche and Nicole Osso, was written by Nicole Riche and Madeleine Wagon and based on the Belgian-French comic strip "Michel Vaillant" created by Jean Graton.

Henri Grandsire as Michel Vaillant

Mony Dalmès as Elisabeth Vaillant

The main stars are Henri Grandsire as Michel Vaillant and Claudine Coster as Valérie Oupensky. Thirteen 26-minute episodes were broadcast from April 30 to July 23, 1967. The music was composed by Charles Dumont and the title song "Plus vite" was performed by Romuald.

Claudine Coster as Valérie Oupensky
Alain Leguellec as Jean-Pierre Vaillant

This series depicts the adventures of the racing hero Michel Vaillant (Henri Grandsire). The son of a car builder, the young Vaillant will have to learn the tricks of the trade, helped by the young photographer Valérie (Claudine Coster) with whom he will fall in love…

Catherine Laffond as Mémel
Yves Brainville as Henri Vaillant

Main Cast

  • Henri Grandsire as Michel Vaillant
  • Alain Leguellec as Jean-Pierre Vaillant
  • Tony Franklin as Commentateur sportif
  • Yves Brainville as Henri Vaillant
  • Mony Dalmès as Elisabeth Vaillant
  • Claudine Coster as Valérie Oupensky
  • Claude Bertrand as Joseph
  • Catherine Laffond as Mémel
Henri Grandsire as Michel Vaillant and Claudine Coster as Valérie Oupensky
Mony Dalmès as Elisabeth Vaillant and Claudine Coster as Valérie Oupensky


  • Many sequences take place during real competitions in which the champions of the time participate: Mauro Bianchi, Johnny Servoz-Gavin, Jo Schlesser, Jacky Ickx, Jean-Pierre Beltoise, Henri Pescarolo, Jim Clark, Jack Brabham.
  • Henri Grandsire, who plays Michel Vaillant, was himself the French Formula 3 champion in 1964.

"Les Aventures de Michel Vaillant" Third Episode

Monday 21 March 2022

1966, Belgian Comics: "Biggles", "De Onbekende Piloot"

In 1966 the fourth "Biggles" comic album, "De Onbekende Piloot" ("The Unknown Pilot") is published by "De Standaard". The story was drawn and written by the Belgian cartoonist Karel Verschuere (1924-1980) for "Studio Vandersteen". The main characters are Major James Bigglesworth aka Biggles, Hedwig Zieroski (Lowenski), Colonel Raymond, Major Browstaw, Stanislaw Lowenski, Hilze, Holsten, 04, Hedwig’s parents, Ginger Hebblethwaite and Algernon "Algy" Lacy.

The Studio Vandersteen series "Biggles" was based on the adventure books for young readers by W. E. Johns (1893–1968), it ran between 1965 and 1969.

Major James Bigglesworth aka Biggles

Hedwig Zieroski (Lowenski)
Colonel Raymond
Biggles and Major Browstaw
Stanislaw Lowenski

Commissioned by "Scotland Yard" Major Bigglesworth aka Biggles is conducting a survey in Scotland. When he runs out of gas, he meets Hedwig Zieroski who borrows her motorcycle to get gas…

Hilze and Biggles
Holsten and Biggles
Hedwig's Parents and Biggles
Ginger Hebblethwaite and Algernon "Algy" Lacy


  • Triumph Vitesse Convertible
  • Jaguar Mark X
  • Austin / Morris 1100 (BMC ADO16)
  • Wolseley probably 15/50
  • Ford Taunus 17M (P3)
  • Ford (Consul) Corsair
  • Ford Cortina Mk I
  • Citroën DS
Ford (Consul) Corsair, Ford Cortina Mk I, Citroën DS
Ford Taunus 17M (P3)
Wolseley probably 15/50
Triumph Vitesse Convertible
Jaguar Mark X and Austin / Morris 1100 (BMC ADO16)

Sunday 13 March 2022

1965, Car Spotting: Rue de Rivoli, Paris, France

Left to right, front to back

First row:
Simca Aronde P60, Citroën 2CV, Rover P4, Renault 8, Mercedes-Benz Ponton, Renault Dauphine, two unidentified cars.

Second row:
Renault 8, Simca 1000, unidentified car probably Renault 8, unidentified car.

Third row:
Peugeot 404, Renault 8, Simca 1300, Peugeot 403, Citroën Ami6,

Fourth row:
Citroën ID/DS, Simca 1500, Peugeot 403, Renault 8, Citroën ID/DS.

Fifth row:
Renault Dauphine, Renault 4CV.

Saturday 5 March 2022

1964, Film and Television Awards: British Academy Awards (BAFTAs)

Best Film
Winner: ‘Dr. Strangelove’
(Stanley Kubrick, Terry Southern, Peter George, UK / USA, 1964)


  • ‘Becket’ (Peter Glenville, Jean Anouilh, Lucienne Hill, Edward Anhalt, UK / USA, 1964)
  • ‘The Pumpkin Eater’ (Jack Clayton, Penelope Mortimer, Harold Pinter, UK, 1964)
  • ‘The Train’ (John Frankenheimer, Franklin Coen, Frank Davis, Rose Valland, France/ Italy / USA, 1964)

Best British Actor
Winner: Richard Attenborough

  • As Regimental Sergeant Major Lauderdale in ‘Guns at Batasi’
  • As Billy Savage in ‘Séance on a Wet Afternoon’


  • Peter O'Toole as Henry II in ‘Becket’
  • Peter Sellers as Group Captain Lionel Mandrake/President Merkin Muffley/Doctor Strangelove in ‘Dr. Strangelove’
  • Peter Sellers as Inspector Clouseau in ‘The Pink Panther’
  • Tom Courtenay as Private Arthur Hamp in ‘King and Country’

Best British Actress
Winner: Audrey Hepburn as Regina Lampert in ‘Charade’


  • Deborah Kerr as Miss Madrigal in ‘The Chalk Garden’
  • Edith Evans as Mrs. St. Maugham in ‘The Chalk Garden’
  • Rita Tushingham as Kate Brady in ‘Girl with Green Eyes’

Best Foreign Actor
Winner: Marcello Mastroianni as Carmine Sbaratti/Renzo/Augusto Rusconti in ‘Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow’


  • Cary Grant as Peter Joshua in ‘Charade’
  • Sidney Poitier as Homer Smith in ‘Lilies of the Field’
  • Sterling Hayden as Brigadier General Jack Ripper in ‘Dr. Strangelove’

Best Foreign Actress
Winner: Anne Bancroft as Jo Armitage in ‘The Pumpkin Eater’


  • Ava Gardner as Maxine Faulk in ‘The Night of the Iguana’
  • Kim Stanley as Myra Savage in ‘Séance on a Wet Afternoon’
  • Shirley MacLaine as Irma la Douce in ‘Irma la Douce’
  • Shirley MacLaine as Louisa May Foster in ‘What a Way to Go!’

Best Screenplay
Winner: Harold Pinter: ‘The Pumpkin Eater’


  • Edward Anhalt: ‘Becket’
  • Stanley Kubrick, Peter George and Terry Southern: ‘Dr. Strangelove’
  • Bryan Forbes: ‘Séance on a Wet Afternoon’

Best Cinematography, Black and White
Winner: Oswald Morris: ‘The Pumpkin Eater’


  • Douglas Slocombe: ‘Guns at Batasi’
  • Denys Coop: ‘King and Country’
  • Gerry Turpin: ‘Séance on a Wet Afternoon’

Best Cinematography, Colour
Winner: Geoffrey Unsworth: ‘Becket’


  • Freddie Young: ‘The 7th Dawn’
  • Arthur Ibbetson: ‘The Chalk Garden’
  • Nicolas Roeg: ‘Nothing but the Best’
  • Jack Hildyard: ‘The Yellow Rolls-Royce’