Saturday, 11 August 2012

1972, News: Expansion of the EEC

On 22 January 1972, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Denmark and Norway signed a Treaty of Accession to the ECC in Brussels. It was the first expansion of the European Economic Community since its founding by six members (Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands) in 1952. Referenda were held in three countries (Ireland: 10 May 1972, Denmark: 2 October 1972 and Norway: 25 September 1972). Norwegian voters did not approve the treaty, but the other three nations joined the "Common Market" on 1 January 1973.
Irish Referendum (Evening Press, Tuesday may 2, 1972)
Irish Referendum (Evening Press, Wednesday may 3, 1972)
Irish Referendum (Evening Press, Friday may 5, 1972)

Denmark, Ireland, Norway and the United Kingdom applied to join for the first time on 3 May 1960. However, French President Charles de Gaulle saw British membership as a Trojan horse for US influence and vetoed membership, and the applications of all four countries were suspended. The four countries resubmitted their applications on 11 May 1967 and with Georges Pompidou succeeding Charles de Gaulle as French President in 1969, the veto was lifted.

No comments:

Post a Comment