Sunday, 12 February 2017

1965, Music: Eurovision Song Contest

The 10th Eurovision Song Contest was held on Saturday 20 March 1965 at the "Sala di Concerto della RAI", Naples, Italy. Renata Mauro presented the festival and of the 18 participants the French singer France Gall won for Luxembourg with "Poupée de cire, poupée de son", a song composed and written by Serge Gainsbourg. 
Luxembourg won for the second time, the first victory was in 1961 with "Nous les amoureux" sung by Jean-Claude Pascal.

Winner France Gall
France Gall with writer/composer Serge Gainsbourg
  • For the second time, Belgium (Lize Marke), Finland (Viktor Klimenko), Germany (Ulla Wiesner), and Spain (Conchita Bautista) scored "null points".
  • 1965 was the debut of Ireland.
  • The Swedish entry by Ingvar Wixell was sung in English. This led to the rule that all participants had to perform their songs using one of their national languages in the 1966 edition.
  • Three artists returned for a second time: Udo Jürgens (Austria, previous participation in 1964), Conchita Bautista (Spain, previously participation in 1961) and Vice Vukov (Yugoslavia, previous participation in 1963).
First place: France Gall with "Poupée de cire, poupée de son" for Luxembourg
Second place: Kathy Kirby with "I Belong" for The United Kingdom
Third place: Guy Mardel with "N'avoue jamais" for France
Draw Country Artist Song Place Points
01 Netherlands Conny van den Bos "'t Is genoeg" 11 5
02 United Kingdom Kathy Kirby "I Belong" 2 26
03 Spain Conchita Bautista "¡Qué bueno, qué bueno!" 15 0
04 Ireland Butch Moore "Walking the Streets in the Rain" 6 11
05 Germany Ulla Wiesner "Paradies, wo bist du?" 15 0
06 Austria Udo Jürgens "Sag ihr, ich lass sie grüßen" 4 16
07 Norway Kirsti Sparboe "Karusell" 13 1
08 Belgium Lize Marke "Als het weer lente is" 15 0
09 Monaco Marjorie Noël "Va dire à l'amour" 9 7
10 Sweden Ingvar Wixell "Absent Friend" 10 6
11 France Guy Mardel "N'avoue jamais" 3 22
12 Portugal Simone de Oliveira "Sol de inverno" 13 1
13 Italy Bobby Solo "Se piangi, se ridi" 5 15
14 Denmark Birgit Brüel "For din skyld" 7 10
15 Luxembourg France Gall "Poupée de cire, poupée de son" 1 32
16 Finland Viktor Klimenko "Aurinko laskee länteen" 15 0
17 Yugoslavia Vice Vukov "Čežnja" 12 2
18 Switzerland Yovanna "Non, à jamais sans toi" 8 8

First place: France Gall with "Poupée de cire, poupée de son"

Recap of all 18 songs

No comments:

Post a Comment